L.K.L.P. Community Action Council is a private, non-profit corporation with the primary service area of the southeastern Kentucky counties of Leslie, Knott, Letcher, and Perry in the Kentucky River region. The agency is a Community Action Agency established by the Kentucky General Assembly.

The LKLP Central Office is located in Hazard, Kentucky.  All administrative functions are conducted at the Central Office including bookkeeping and program development. LKLP has offices located in each of the four counties in the service area, which includes Leslie, Knott, Letcher and Perry.

The agency is governed by a 24 member Board of Directors comprised of 3 representatives of the private, local elected official, and low-income sectors of each county. All LKLP Board members serve a four year term. The Annual Meeting of the LKLP Board of Directors is held in August of each year. The LKLP Board of Directors meets bi-monthly following the annual meeting. You will find a list of the current LKLP Board of Directors and the group that they represent on this website. Please click on Board of Directors to view the list.

Incorporated in 1966, L.K.L.P. Community Action has been serving the residents of Leslie, Knott, Letcher and Perry counties for over 50 years. Today, L.K.L.P. offers over 26 federal, state, and local funded programs, targeted mainly to the low-income disadvantaged residents of our service area. However, several agency programs are available to the general public.

LKLP is a member of Community Action KentuckyCommunity Action Partnership, The Southeastern Association for Community Action AgenciesThe Kentucky Public Transit Association, and The Community Transportation Association of America.


To view the 2020-2021 LKLP Annual Report, click here.